Patron Advisory Council


The Patron Advisory Council of the Washington Talking Book & Braille Library assists in giving advice and recommendations on practices, policies, and goals of library services to individuals who are blind, visually impaired, deaf/blind, physically disabled, or learning disabled. Council members serve as advocates in promoting and further developing library services.

Membership is representative of Washington State's general population and takes into consideration such factors as geography, age, service use, and patron characteristics. Members serve three-year terms and may serve a second consecutive three-years.

Members meet three times a year in February, June and October. Meetings are open to all attend and details about the meetings will be sent out on the WTBBL listserv. All meeting minutes are available by request by calling 800-542-0866.

Membership consists of the following:

  • a representative from the Washington Council of the Blind
  • a representative from the National Federation of the Blind of Washington
  • a patron who is blind or visually impaired
  • a patron who is deaf-blind
  • a patron with a learning disability
  • a patron with a physical disability other than blindness
  • a patron who is an adolescent or the parent of a child who is a patron
  • a patron who is a veteran members at large

Bylaws of the Patron Advisory Council:

Available for download: Mp3 file, Word Document, Adobe PDF, Electronic Braille.

Applying for the Patron Advisory Council:

Library users will be notified of openings on the council each fall. Applications must be received before November 15, 2017, and the Library Director and a Selection Committee made up of current council members will select new members by the end of the calendar year. The application can be found and submitted here.

Current Members 2018:

Jonathan Blake (Sedro Woolley)

Ryan Bondroff (Seattle)

John Buckmaster (Spokane) – Vice Chair

Sharon Cordova (Puyallup)

Chris Coulter (Everett) - Chair

Frank Cuta (Benton City)

Leslie Fitzpatrick (Washougal)

Reginald George (Yakima)

Annee Hartzell (Walla Walla)

Stephanie Lucash (Seattle)

Gary Mackenstadt (Sequim)

Dierdre Maxwell (Tacoma)

Heather Mears (Walla Walla)

Magdalen (Maida) Pojtinger (Kent)

Betty Watson (Vancouver)